2019 Joan Miró Prize Seventh Edition

Jury Statement for the 2019 Joan Miró Prize

A jury composed of Iwona Blazwick, Alfred Pacquement, Magnus af Petersens, João Ribas, Nimfa Bisbe and Marko Daniel has unanimously awarded the 2019 Joan Miró Prize to Nalini Malani.

The jury considers the Indian artist worthy of the prize for her longstanding commitment to the values of radical imagination and socio-political awareness, also dear to Joan Miró. Over an extended career, Malani has been an unremitting voice for the silenced and the dispossessed, most particularly women globally.

By alluding to a myriad of cultural references from both East and West, she has built an impressive body of work that engages viewers through complex, immersive installations that present her vision of the battered world we live in. Her interest in ancient mythology, both Greek and Indian, as well as in modern symbols and image-making, has allowed her to develop a very personal, cosmopolitan iconographic mingling that boldly denounces contemporary violence and injustice, and their effects on planetary life.

In addition, just like Joan Miró, Malani has explored and mixed different disciplines and media, most notably theatre, installations, drawing, film and video, going back to the 1960s. Her prodigious intellectual curiosity and continued dialogue with some of the most outstanding luminaries of our times has also inflected her output, just as Miró's friendships with Artaud, Leiris, Bataille and Kandinsky profoundly impacted him and enriched his oeuvre. For all these reasons, the jury is enthusiastic in acknowledging the extraordinary stature of Nalini Malani's artistic contribution and unanimously grants her the 2019 Joan Miró Prize.

Barcelona, 23 May 2019

Jury Members for the 2019 Joan Miró Prize

Nimfa Bisbe Iwona Blazwick Marko Daniel Alfred Pacquement Magnus af Petersens João Ribas

Martina Millà (secretary of the jury)



